Call me Jim

Posted: April 8, 2015 in graffiti living
Tags:

My preferred name is Jim but my legal name is James — it baffles me how many people don’t understand or respect this.

Most people have called me Jim since Uni. It sounds friendly so I prefer it at work and in general.

I often say ‘my name is Jim’ because it’s easier than trying to explain that they feel like two separate people.

Jim is extrovert me. James is introvert me.

People like Jim, including people who don’t like James.

Jim is the friendly one.

James is the grumpy and sarcastic one.

Jim is happiest when talking to people.

James is happiest when most people talk to Jim instead.

Jim is the friendly and outgoing suit-of-clothes that I put on when I go out.

James would much prefer to be curled up like a cat, drinking tea and writing.

Leave a Comment

