Writer’s Notebook: Advice from a Drunk Writer

Posted: February 14, 2015 in graffiti living
Tags: , ,

A drunk writer gave me some writing advice after breaking into his own car and talking about John Fante.

He said forget about writing a novel.

Write scenes and stitch them together.

Experiment with scenes and characters — like you’re auditioning them.

You may end up producing something like a novel.

But on a day-to-day basis he said his writing consists of doing nothing more than those little bits and pieces.

Comments
  1. RAFrenzy says:

    I really appreciate that. Got to work my courage a little more and maybe I’ll take you up on it.

  2. RAFrenzy says:

    Hmm. That’s what I’ve been doing. We’ll see if it works.

    I wonder if Fante influenced me too.

    • Fante’s ‘Ask the Dust’ is brilliant. Case closed.

      If you want a test reader of your work, please let me know. I used to do it professionally and you’re one of the handful of people for whom I’d gladly do it for free.

      It’s also a way of thanking you for being awesome and (if my memory serves me correct) for the post-secret thing many moons ago. That was you, wasn’t it? I felt so guilty not writing anything afterwards!

      Either way, I’d love to read your work. You’re smart and funny so it would be fun to see how much of that comes across on the page. I’ll gladly give off-the-cuff feedback and answer any questions you have.

      I’m honest but try to be supportive and constructive. I’ve been accused of being a cheerleader but that’s just because I’ve got blonde hair. *hides pom-poms*

      Email me your work if you want me to read it. The offer’s there, as we say in Yorkshire.

Leave a Comment

