Goodreads Review: Howl and Other Poems by Allen Ginsberg

Posted: February 6, 2015 in graffiti living, reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Howl and Other PoemsHowl and Other Poems by Allen Ginsberg
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First read in 1995 whilst drunk on red wine sat in a friends room on a mattress on the floor.
Reread at least a hundred times since then.
Read when I wanted to be a poet.
Read when I decided that all poetry is bullshit.
Read when I realised that I wasn’t a poet but I still knew what I loved.
Listened to on recordings of Ginsberg.
Listened to on documentaries about the beats.
Read aloud by other people.
Recited by some godawful jazz students on the anniversary of his death.
Recited by myself on the anniversary of his death.
Read to myself sometimes late at night when I just can’t sleep.
Reread after I saw the film at a film festival in 2010.
Reread December 2013 for no apparent reason.
Listened to again just now.

View all my reviews

Leave a Comment

