Why do you write? To show the world its own dreams

Posted: January 25, 2015 in graffiti living
Tags: , , , , , ,

tumblr_mlvuohVOef1rtxj3eo1_500

When asked what I write, I usually grunt and say, “words”, before making a hasty retreat.

When asked why I write, the most honest answer would be, “I don’t know, and even if I could afford a psychiatrist, I’m not sure that I’d want to find out.”

The phrase I once came up with when trying to sum up what I write was, “I want to show the world its own dreams.”

No doubt this is pretentious art-bollocks and sounds like something you’d read on a t-shirt or the blurb on the back of a book, but let me explain what I mean.

Imagine the world is a group of people, and your country is one of the people among them. It has views of itself, it thinks it is a pretty good guy deep down.

It means well, or at least tells itself that it does in order to get to sleep at night, and tries to convince other people of the same. It also likes to look at how well it stands in relation to others — how important it is, how popular.

The world wants to be loved. But when it sleeps, the truth comes out like a broken river.

All the nagging fears and doubts pour out as dreams, hidden truths, in a stream of images and symbols that form their own language and say more about them than they would ever say when awake.

This is where the truth is. Dreams show the world what it really is, or at least would do if it could only remember them when it was awake. You can’t learn from dreams that you don’t remember.

Bill Hicks said that, “If you are living for tomorrow, you will always be one day behind. Any organization created out of fear must create fear in order to survive. A living philosophy is not a belief — it is an act.”

I want to take a stand and give voice to something, not politicised or political, but in response to the world as it is.

This also ties in with the mad ideas that I have that all writers are shamans and creativity is a magickal act, intended to manifest change and influence the real world.

‘Show the world its own dreams’ isn’t the most accurate and literal description of what I do when I write, but it’s the best that I could come up with at the time.

So, fuck it. If anyone asks, that’s what I do.

What do you write? Why do you write? Answers on a postcard, in a tweet or as a comment on this post, please.

Leave a Comment

