Writer’s Notebook: Read Once and Destroy!

Posted: March 29, 2011 in graffiti living
Tags:

all work and no play makes jack a dull boy

Typing up old notebooks is a bit like injecting heroin into your eyeball – addictive, painful, and not very good for your eyes. Fun though!

Please Don’t Read This

They say you should face your fears. One of my biggest fears is that someone will read my notebooks and realise that I’m mad, that I can’t write, and that even when I do write, my first drafts are so terrible that I should be shot in the name of literature. So, here it is. Several pages of my notebook. Uncut. The only thing I’ve corrected is the spelling.
Read the rest of this entry »

My Gratitude List

I’ve been keeping a gratitude list of little things I’m grateful for every day. If it gets much bigger I’m going to have to change my name to Rainbow Brite. In a fit of madness, I decided to post some of it here. It’s a bit random, but it’s a great way to track those tiny moments that you otherwise wouldn’t catch, and it’s definitely a practice I’d recommend. Just put the words “Today I’m Grateful For…” at the top and start from there. Anyway, you get the idea.
Read the rest of this entry »

Thoth Tarot

One of the blessings and curses of attempting to post something every day for a month, is that it forces you to lower your standards, at the same time as you lower your guard. As a result, you’re more likely to post things unedited or ad-hoc, and people are more likely to get a glimpse of things that they wouldn’t normally see. So, in the spirit of a child who takes a dump on the floor and then says, “Look what I just did!”, here are some more notes from my notebook.
Read the rest of this entry »

Healthy, Wealthy, and Wise

When does wisdom appear to be stupidity? When your inability to grasp certain things is actually ‘correct’ or smarter and wiser than if you did. When you are wise enough to know when to appear stupid. When you refuse to deal with duality and questions from duality on their own terms. In other words – when you are a Taoist!
Read the rest of this entry »

Leave a Comment

