Postcards From Japan – Part 1

Posted: November 25, 2010 in graffiti living

Kabukicho

In the interests of getting national blog posting month over and done with, I’m posting some messages to friends that I wrote whilst in Japan. More to follow. Please forgive me!

LOST IN TOKYO:
I,m in a late night Manga Kissa (comic store that has late night
internet access and doubles as a place to sleep if you hire a back
room – you get a couch to sleep on and can lock the door. I won]t be
doing that tonighht of course, but it was either come here or hire a
Geisha! Hmm, maybe I should reconsider my options)

I`ve been running around Tokyo like a man on a mission, BUT ITS BEEN
FUN. aGGH, please ignore the werird capitalisation and spelling. IM
WRITING ON A JAPANESE KEYBOARD AND HAVEN:T QUITE GOT THE HANG OF IT
YET!

sEEN SENSO-JI TEMPLE, BEFRIENDED A FERAL STRAY CAT THAT WAS STARING AT
A STATUE OF A CAT! BEEN TO ASAKUSA, DOWNTOWN TOKYO, FOLLOWED THE
SAMURAI TRAIL TO IMPERIAL PALACE GARDENS AND BEEN SPEAKING IRREPRABLY
BAD JAPANESE AT EVERY OPPORTUNITY (I CAN ORDER FOOD ETC, BUT ITS
USUALLY BETTER IF I SMILE AND NOD). i HAVE TO ADMIT TO HAVING FELT
COMPLETELY LOST – THAT SAID TONIGHT IS MY FIRTS PROPER NIGHT AS LAST 2
DAYS HAVE BEEN SPENT ON TRAVELLING AND JET LAG. iTS AMAZING HOW
STRESSFUL AND TIME CONSIMING LITTLE THINGS CAN BE, LIKE FINDING A
TRAIN STATION, FINDING THE ENTRRANCE TO THE SAID TRAIN STATION, AND
FINDING THE RIGTH PLACE TO CATCH THE TRAIN!

I FOUND TOURIST INFORMATION OFFICE AND BOOKED MYSELF TO STAY AT MT
KOYOSAN IN A BUDDHIST TEMPLE ON THE 23RD. THIS IS A TREAT TO
COMPENSATE FOR FEELING LIKE AN ALIEN AND SLEEPING IN HOSTELS – I
REALLY SHOULDNT BE SHARING A BEDROOM OR KITCHEN OR BATHROOM WITH
ANYONE UNLESS I AM SLEEPING WITH THEM, OTHER PEOPLE DRIVE ME NUTS!

I:M REGRETTING NOT HAVING BROUGHT MY ALPHASMART NEO AS I WANT TO WRITE
WRTITE WRITE, BUT AT LEAST I DONT HAVE TO LUG IT AROUND, AND IF I WANT
I CAN ALWAYS BUY PEN AND PAPER!

wENT TO THE TOP OF TOKY GOVT BUILDING, WHICH WAS COOL. THEY HAVE AN
OBSERVATION TOWER AND THE VIEW WAS LIKE SOMETHING OUT OF BLADERUNNER.
THERE WAS A BAR UP THERE BUT IT WAS “TOO POSH FOR THE LIKES OF ME”, AS
WAS MADE CLEAR TO ME BY THE WAITER BY HIM WHO AT FIRST IGNORING ME AND
THEN POINTING OUT THAT THERE WOULD BE A 500Y SERVICE CHARGE AND A
PENALTY FOR BEING ON MY OWN. I GOT A BEE IN MY BONNET, ASKED FOR A
TABLE IN JAPANESE, THEN ORDERED… WAIT FOR IT… A CUP OF TEA. IT
COST ME 7 POUNDS, WHICH IS THE EQUIVALENT TO THREE MEALS AT THE PLACES
I:VE BEEN EATING! IT WAS WORTH IT JUST FOR THE VIEW, BUT THERE IS A
STUBBORN STREAK IN ME THAT PROBABLY HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH IT TOO.
ANYWAY, IA M NOW IN KABUKICHO, BOUGHT A FULL MEAL AT A PROPER NOODLE
BAR FOR LESS THAN THE SERVICE CHARGE(?!) AND AM ENJOYING WONDERING
AROUND TRYING TO NOT LOOK TOO LOST!

Leave a Comment

