What’s Your Word Count?

Posted: November 9, 2010 in graffiti living
Tags: , ,

Quick post tonight as I’m working. Just wanted to check in with everyone and see how you’re doing. What’s your word count for nanowrimo? And how are the rest of you getting along with nablopomo? I’ll show you mine, if you show me yours.

Nanowrimo
The “novel” hovers at around 15,000 words of irascible prose. Its badness is a badge of honour. The dialogue is so bad, it’s like an ashtray the morning after a party, to which your mouth wasn’t invited. It’s supposedly a fictional retelling of experiences traveling in Japan – things that happened, but shouldn’t have, mixed with things that didn’t happen, but it’d have been great if they did. Or at least, that’s the plan – it’s taken 15,000 words just to get out of the airport!

Nablopomo
The blog has had at least one post every day. Everything on here this month has been ridiculously low-rent, but the need to post something daily has forced me to post things I’d normally leave on the cutting room floor, and led to some interesting discussions with people both on and offline. I’ve had a love hate relationship with this blog and deliberated over whether or not to ditch it altogether. But, for now, the inner editor has gone to put the kettle on. I’m curious and open to what people would like to see on here, and likely to write some future posts in response to comments.

Over to You
So, how’s things with you? How’s it going with nanowrimo, nablopomo, or your writing in general? Enquiring minds want to know. Please feel free to boast your wins or confess your sins in the comments. Go on, you know you want to.

Comments
  1. holly troy says:

    I’m at 17615. I am enjoying the habit of writing – period. It’s been a long time since I have deliberately written like this. Some novel ideas come through, but mostly odd vignettes. AM not worrying about reading what I write until the end of the month. Then I will figure out what to do.

    Nablopomo? Is that a blog post a day? I like that idea, too.

  2. koangirl says:

    I just found you through you adding me on Twitter (which I suppose came about thanks to a hashtag I added– either #nanowrimo or #monsters or #goats). Lovely to meet you.

    I’m so far behind on my writing that it’s almost painful to look at my stats page. Last night, in a frenzy of logorrhea and sore fingers, I pounded out just over 2k to reach 14k. My excuse is a combination of work and a stupidly bad cold that has been haunting me for a month.

    My crappy novel? A fifteen year old girl, a deaf cat and three monsters are searching for a monster who disappeared in an under-road tunnel in Yangshuo, China, last spring on holiday. They’ve been on a train for an awfully long time. I may pad it out for a while with more coffee drinking, brief conversations and silence and tell myself this is how Murakami started.

    I have no idea how you are managing nablopomo at the same time- I did that back in May after starting up my newer blog (www.ephemeraanddetritus.com) and wanted it to look less empty. After a month it was certainly less empty but it was also now filled with a lot of stuff written for no reason other than writing itself. Perhaps not an auspicious start.

  3. Kim U says:

    I’m doing fine getting a post out but I’ve had very few comments and no feedback. Starting to think my posts have entered the town of Sucksville. Population: Me.

    And worse, I’m dealing with rude people who never respond to my tweets and seem to be in this special “clique” of food bloggers. I’m the newb who is barely off the ground so apparently I’m invisible. Yes, I’m bitter. But I’ve been working hard on my blog and a re-design (http://www.eatinginvegas.blogspot.com) and would like to feel as though my efforts were worth it. Frustrating. Very frustrating.

  4. Brenda says:

    Thanks for asking. First I have to say…again, like I have said nearly every time I reply that I really enjoy your posts. Second, it’s going OK..I am new at this, I love to write but I am not really armed with a great deal of confidence. I just write, sometimes it’s ok and sometimes it is horrid…but I will carry on because I love it even if it is only to hear my own voice speaking back at me. The lone audience.

    • C. R. Lanei says:

      Congrats on the word count and posting!

      Part of what’s been getting me through the horror of the terribad writing is the realization that even the greatest books have absurd, unexpected parts if you really want to be critical. By no means are my 16,000 words anything close to a great novel but I confess I’m enjoying discovering the story on the fly. Usually I plan so much that I spoil the ending and want to rush toward it. Been feeling like I can meander a bit.

      Being a new reader to your blog I’m still discovering what you post normally but I’ve been loving the humor and warmth of your posts. Warmth in the sense that they feel more like the beginning of dialogue rather than the authoritative word on a particular subject–which is really what a blog should be in my opinion. Way too many “look at me” bloggers. You are a breath of fresh air. No really. Okay, enough of that.

      Looking forward to hearing how the novel progresses over the next couple of weeks.

    • Hi Brenda, thanks again for the comments. Keep going and best of luck! J

Leave a Comment

