What are you going to do about it NOW?

Posted: June 1, 2010 in graffiti living
Tags: , ,

Nanoblopomo Theme For June 2010: NOW

I’ve decided to take part in National Blog Posting Month. The theme for NaBloPoMo in June is NOW, and if the universe ever needed to bitch slap me, it’s with that word. NOW.

Personally, I think that ‘NaBloPoMo’ just sounds rude. But I like the idea of writing a blog post every single day. And it’s one of those things that I keep meaning to do – I’m just too busy. Write and publish something every day for 30 days? I could never do that!

Sometimes, I get the bright idea that I could write 30 blog posts in advance and schedule them to appear each day. That way, I could sit on my arse all month, guaranteed of success. Or get on with more important things – like the rest of my burgeoning to do list. Genius!

Then I blink, and another month of work and worry has flown right past, and despite my best efforts I’m still no closer to achieving any of my goals. And blogging? Who has time for that?!

But today something stopped me in my tracks. Along with the monthly blogging theme, NaBloPoMo now has a daily writing prompt to go with it. Today’s prompt is:

When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was little, I wanted to be a writer. I still do.

And that’s just it. I tell myself I’m so busy with life and work that I barely have time for ‘proper writing’, let alone for blogging. I tell myself that social media is at best an unsatisfactory form of mutual masturbation, and that keeping a blog just isn’t that important. It’s not like I’ve got nothing BETTER to do:

  • I want to write.
  • I want to live and work in Japan.
  • I want to live a better life and be a better person.
  • But I’m sick of my bullshit. Behind the scenes, I work my arse off trying to make it happen, then I get discouraged when I fail or feel like I’ve got nothing to show for it. Fear gets me like a bunny trapped in headlights, and the static in my head tells me that all of my efforts will come to naught.

    An ancient Sumerian proverb is ‘Act promptly, make your god happy.’ In other words, don’t think, but act on whatever you’re driven to do. I’m a benighted heathen, but that’s still a philosophy I can get behind. We beat ourselves up with the words TOO LITTLE, TOO LATE; but all we can ever do is ACT RIGHT NOW.

    I started this blog in June last year and abandoned it several months ago. It’s supposed to be about writing, but never is. For the next 30 days, I’m just going to act on whatever shows up and write about that. Along with the obligatory rants about everything else, I’m going to fuck up, I’m going to make mistakes, and I’m going to embarrass myself in public as much as possible.

    Life is a really messy first draft. You don’t get to make it better in the rewrites, unless you’re a Buddhist.

    Leave a Comment

    