My Gratitude List for 2009

Posted: January 25, 2010 in graffiti living
Tags: ,

I’ve been keeping a gratitude list of little things I’m grateful for every day. If it gets much bigger I’m going to have to change my name to Rainbow Brite. In a fit of madness, I decided to post some of it here. It’s a bit random, but it’s a great way to track those tiny moments that you otherwise wouldn’t catch, and it’s definitely a practice I’d recommend. Just put the words “Today I’m Grateful For…” at the top and start from there. Anyway, you get the idea.

In 2009 I was grateful for…

  • TEA!

    People feeling the need to thank me (even if this ruffled my feathers at the time).

    Noticing that time to write is abundant – you have the same time as anyone else.

    Surprise turns of events in my favour.

    Meeting up with old friends irrespective of distance.

    Realising how much further you have gone in your own life than you realised.

    Chicken, olives, and other nice food.

    TEA! And trains.

    Academic borrowing rights – being able to have an awesome library for free at home.

    Walter Mosley and kindly matter of fact writing advice.

    The promise of sleeeep.

    Unexpected chocolate biscuits.

    Sexy dreams.

    People going out of their way to help me.

    Kind words.

    The smallest of moments.

    Unexpected good things.

    Pizza and Persepolis.

    People wanting to help.

    Getting away with it.

    Interest in my writing.

    Fuji Hiro. And being recognised in Fuji Hiro.

    A good days work, and a good day at work.

    Unexpected free theatre tickets.

    Friends. As in people not the tv series.

    Walks with my family.

    Well wishers.

    People who understand you and want you to be there.

    Good humour.

    Friends with a sense of humour.

    People who make me laugh.

    Making other people laugh.

    Buses that stop for you.

    People so amused by you that they say something witty back.

    Randomly bumping into B.

    Chance meetings.

    People who are glad to help and glad to be of service.

    Getting away with it.

    My mac mini is alive and well and living in Droitwich.

    Silence and solitude.

    Salad.

    More unexpected theatre tickets.

    9 hours sleep.

    Nightmares that are good for you.

    Being able to help heal my friends with words.

    Making time to write.

    Disappointments not fatal.

    EVERYTHING!

    People who come through for you at the last minute.

    The observation that the universe seems to give you what you want so long as you really want it, really need it, and at the same time manage to extinguish, sacrifice, and otherwise give up all hope of getting it.

    Pixies, god, and the number seven. This monkey’s gone to heaven!

    Surviving sleep deprivation.

    Understanding friends.

    Lovely people wanting to kidnap me – in a good way of course.

    Did I mention tea?

    PRODUCTIVE productivity.

    The promise of sleep.

    Dreams of carpe diem.

    Robert Anton Wilson.

    L getting in touch out of the blue and sending me pictures of Hiroshima.

    Getting through it all in one piece.

    Silence.

    Almond oil.

    Close shaves.

    Immaculate timing.

    The song of the truly mad.

    Unexpected strange encounters with nice but equally strange people.

    Finishing job applications and submitting in advance of the deadline.

    Meeting up with old friends and picking up where you left off.

    Finding photocopy cards on the floor.

    Being alive in general.

    KH getting out of surgery safely.

    Safe landings and all that shit.

    Dreams including the ones I don’t remember.

    Flapjacks.

    Finding a pound coin on the floor – without which flapjacks wouldn’t have been possible.

    Time spent with my thoughts on writing.

    Blessings given and received.

    The flattery of being asked for help.

    Being alive.

    Tea.

    The little things.

    Tea and biscuits.

    Finding the right card for someone.

    Sudden inspiration for stories.

    Dell mini orders.

    Nanowrimo.

    Friends rallying behind you to write.

    The opportunity to ask for help.

    Hitting your word count despite trepidations.

    Friends who want to play.

    The briefest lucid dream of me running up a road towards a beautiful house.

    Dreams and lie ins and back feeling betterness.

    Strong painkillers and red wine.

    People doing you favours and asking for nothing in return due to all the favours you’ve done them in the past.

    People who help above the call of duty.

    Surprisingly good references.

    People making me cups of tea and trying to cheer me up.

    People who care.

    People. Full stop.

    Sitting and writing in a WARM quiet corner.

    Cake.

    The number 23.

    Jobs started and finished.

    Being able to sit and stare out of the window.

    Water. Heat. Let there be light!

    Sausage and chips.

    Perfect timing.

    Something else.

    Skype conversations with my brother.

    Real world conversations with my brother.

    Xmas in Athens with my brother.

    My brother. Full stop.

  • Advertisements
    Comments
    1. […] I’ve been keeping a gratitude list of little things I’m grateful for every day. If it gets much bigger I’m going to have to change my name to Rainbow Brite. In a fit of madness, I decided to post some of it here. It’s a bit random, but it’s a great way to track those tiny moments that you otherwise wouldn’t catch, and it’s definitely a practice I’d recommend. Just put the words “Today I’m Grateful For…” at the top and start from there. Anyway, you get the idea. Read the rest of this entry » […]

    Leave a Comment

    